Skip to main content

1916 Bursary Fund

About the Fund

The 1916 Bursary Fund was announced by the Minister for Education and Skills on 30th December, 2017. The 1916 Bursary Fund commemorates the centenary of 1916 as part of an overall series of measures to encourage participation and success by students from sections of society that are significantly under-represented in higher education.

The 1916 Bursary Fund in LIT is a competitive process that is targeted at socio-economically disadvantaged students commencing third level education in the 2019-2020 academic year. Students must be commencing Year 1, on a full-time or part-time day programme of not less than 2 years duration, leading to a Major Award at Level 6, 7 or Level 8 on the National Framework of Qualifications.

In order to be eligible to apply to the 1916 Bursary Fund in the academic year 2019/2020, it must be the applicants first time in higher education, studying an undergraduate course, leading to a full award.
The 1916 Bursary Fund applicants must qualify as financially socio-economically disadvantaged regardless of their target group AND meet the following mandatory criteria:

  • In receipt of a DEASP means-tested social welfare payment


In addition to the socio-economically disadvantaged criteria, applicants who meet one or more of the following target groups will be given priority.

  • Students from socio-economically disadvantaged backgrounds who are entering LIT through the Higher Education to Access Route (HEAR)

  • Students with a disability – who are entering LIT through the Disability Access Route to Education (DARE) in particular students with a physical/mobility impairment, e.g., students who are deaf/hard of hearing and students who are blind or have a visual impairment

  • First time, Mature Student Entrant

  • Lone Parents (who have been confirmed by the Department of Social Affairs and Employment Protection (DEASP) as holding a means tested social welfare payment)

  • A member of the Irish Traveller Community

  • Those entering on the basis of a Further Education Award

  • Ethnic minorities

  • Registered with Engage in Education (formally LCBEI) AND living in the designated marginalised communities of: Southill (including Janesboro and Kennedy Park), Ballinacurra Weston, St Marys Park and Moyross

How to Apply

Applications for the 2019/2020 1916 Bursary Fund are currently closed. Updates regarding applications for 2020/2021 will be posted here.