Skip to main content

Progression Routes

Choosing the right programme is the first step towards your future career and at TUS, we have designed our programmes in a flexible way that enables students to exit programmes at various levels.  

There are three entry levels to TUS at undergraduate level: 
  • Higher Certificate (Level 6) programmes  
  • Bachelor Degree (Level 7) programmes  
  • Honours Bachelor Degree (Level 8) programmes  

Students who enter TUS at any level, can either choose to graduate at that level or progress to the next level, assuming the required grades are achieved (and progression programme available). We call this the 'ladder system'.

Exit awards have also been built into programmes at various levels. For example, a student who enters TUS at Higher Certificate Level 6 will graduate on successful completion of Year 2 and can either progress to an add-on Level 7 Degree programme or exit the programme. Successful completion of a Level 7 Degree programme allows students to advance to a Level 8 Honours Degree. Students that successfully complete Level 8 Honours Degree programmes are eligible to progress to postgraduate programmes.  

All programmes at TUS fit within the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ) – the official system of qualification recognition in Ireland. The NFQ, which consists of ten levels is used to describe the Irish qualifications system and allows students and employers to compare and contrast the level and standard of different qualifications and to ensure that they are quality assured and recognised at home and abroad.